Lucid dreaming

This is for discussion of general Astral Projection & Out-of-body Experiences related topics.
Gemma
Neophyte
count: 0

Lucid dreaming

Post by Gemma » April 22nd, 2012, 11:49 pm

Hi, total newbie here! I had a question to throw out there. I've only had two lucids dreams and I wondered if my experience of it was normal and if it would change with time. It might make more sense if I give a summary of the dreams first:

My first one I was really excited to be lucid and I started running around showing everyone I could shoot lightening bolts out of my hands because I was really dreaming. No one was overly impressed and then I "woke up". I did a reality check and thought I was awake, but actually I'd only dreamt it and went into a normal dream.

The second time I was a little more sensible and experimented with asking people questions and looking at objects and how they changed but then I was flying around and I think I eventually forgot I was dreaming and went non-lucid again.

So, in my limited experience I have acted very differently when lucid dreaming than I would if say this very moment my consciousness went into a dream. It is like the dream state effect is still affecting my behavior even though I am lucid. Is this normal or am I not really having a lucid dream then? Do you ever get to the point where you behave as rationally in a lucid dream as you would when awake or are you always under the influence of dreaming?

Jettins \o/
Adept
count: 608

Lucid dreaming

Post by Jettins \o/ » April 23rd, 2012, 11:16 am

Hello Gemma,

Congratulations on the lucid experiences :D

Yes, at times our subconscious affects your conscious thoughts and behaviors in dreams. It appears to me that since we are exploring our conscious and subconscious created scenarios for the most part, the scenario permeates our conscious mind and influences our mood, thoughts and behavior.
dream state effect is still affecting my behavior even though I am lucid.